North Dakota Cosmetology Licensing Requirements

In order to obtain a license in Barbering, Cosmetology, Esthetics, and Manicuring in the state of North Dakota, individuals must complete the requirements listed below. Other requirements may apply.

Barber: 1550 hours
Cosmetologist: 1800 hours
Esthetician: 600 hours
Manicurist: 350 hours

Licensing Fee Schedule: (Fees subject to change)

Barber: $50 (includes exam and certificate)
Cosmetologist: $25 Exam Fee $15 Annual License Fee
Esthetician: Determined by Board
Manicurist: Determined by Board
Reciprocity: $105

Continuing Education Requirements:

Reciprocity:

To endorse into North Dakota, the Applicant must be currently licensed in another jurisdiction with licensing requirements equal to North Dakota, and pass the North Dakota Law examination. North Dakota does not accept state-developed written exams when making endorsement decisions. Applicants may call 701-224-9800 for more information.

Contact Information:

North Dakota Board of Cosmetology
PO Box 2177
Bismarck, ND 58502-2177
Phone: 701-224-9800
www.legis.nd.gov/cencode/T43C04.pdf Barber
www.legis.nd.gov/cencode/T43C11.pdf Cosmetologist, Esthetician, Manicurist