Ohio Cosmetology Licensing Requirements
In order to obtain a license in Barbering, Cosmetology, Esthetics, and Manicuring in the state of Ohio, individuals must complete the requirements listed below. Other requirements may apply.
Cosmetologist: 1500 hours
Hair Designer: 1200 hours
Esthetician: 600 hours
Manicurist: 200 hours
Barber: 1800 hours
Continuing Education Requirements:
Continuing education classes are scheduled for presentation throughout the state of Ohio. If this is the applicant’s first Ohio license, applicant is not required to take continuing education for this next license renewal cycle. If applicant now holds an active Ohio license, applicant will need only eight (8) hours of continuing education. Under no circumstance is applicant allowed to report the same CE numbers more than once (ref: OAC 4713-21-03). Applicant should check with the CE provider before signing up and taking the class. Exemption: All Ohio cosmetology active licensees at least sixty-five (65) years of age prior to the license expiration date of January 31 each odd numbered year will not be required to take continuing education classes in order to renew an active license in the State of Ohio.
The requirements for Endorsement into Ohio are to take the written exam for the license desired, or an applicant who is licensed or registered as a cosmetologist or barber under the laws of any other state (or country, territory of the United States, or District of Columbia) may be granted reciprocity and a license to practice cosmetology or barbering without being required to take an examination, if the applicant's license is from a state with equal or greater licensing requirements than those required in the state of Ohio. Additional requirements may also apply.