Arkansas Cosmetology Licensing Requirements
In order to obtain a license in Barbering, Cosmetology, Esthetics, Nail Technology, or Electrology in the state of Arkansas, individuals must complete the requirements listed below. Other requirements may apply.
Barber: 1500 hours
Cosmetologist: 1500 hours
Esthetician: 600 hours
Electrology: 600 hours (or 350 hours if you have a valid cosmetology license).
Nail Technician: 750 hours (or 600 credit hours)
Nail Technology: 600 hours
Licensing Fee Schedule: (Fees subject to change)
Cosmetology Practical Exam Fee: $65
Cosmetology Written Exam Fee: $20
Barber Fee: $65
Continuing Education Requirements:
Cosmetology: Reciprocity is granted to individuals who possess a valid license and have passed both a written and practical exam. New reciprocity requirements for cosmetology are being developed.
Barbering: Any person who wants to practice barbering in Arkansas shall file with the Executive Secretary of the State Board of Barber Examiners a written application, under oath, together with two (2) identical two inch by three inch (2”x3”) signed photographs and sufficient proof the individual is of good moral conduct. Upon making application as required by law, the applicant shall remit payment in the amount of one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) for the reciprocity fee. The reciprocity fee includes the license fee until the beginning of the next renewal period. Upon receiving the application and reciprocity fee, the individual will be required to come into the office of the State Board of Barber Examiners for a personal interview, before a license will be issued. Any individual applying for reciprocity must have at least one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours of training and an unrevoked or unexpired license issued by the proper authorities of another state. Any individual applying for reciprocity who has fewer than one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours of training must also have been continuously engaged in the practice of barbering for at least one (1) year in addition to providing proof of licensure in the state where the individual received training or holds a license.