Iowa Cosmetology License Information
In order to obtain a license in cosmetology, nail technology, or esthetics in the state of Iowa, individuals must complete the requirements listed below. Other requirements may apply.
Cosmetologist: 2100 hours
Esthetician: 600 hours
Nail Technician: 325 hours
According to Iowa law, in order for individuals to receive a cosmetology license (cosmetology, nail tech, esthetician, manicurist), they will need to show proof of a high school diploma or GED. They also must have graduated from a cosmetology school and show proof of a diploma from said school.
Licensing Fee Schedule: (Fees subject to change)
All fees are nonrefundable.
License fee for cosmetology, licensure by endorsement, or licensure by reciprocity is $60.
Late fee for failure to renew before expiration is $60.
Reactivation fee for applicants licensed to practice cosmetology is $120.
Duplicate license fee is $20.
Initial fee or reactivation fee for certification to administer microdermabrasion or
utilize a certified-laser product or an intense pulsed light (IPL) device is $25 for each type of procedure or certified laser product, or IPL device.
Initial fee or reactivation fee for certification of cosmetologists to administer chemical peels is $25.
Continuing Education Requirements:
Iowa's Continuing Education requirements are changing. Please see their official web site for further information.
Iowa does not have reciprocity with any state. Individuals from select states can apply for licensure by endorsement, but only if they have taken a national exam. Note: not all states use a National exam – some use a State exam.
Iowa Dept. of Public Health
Board of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences
Lucas Bldg., 5th Floor
321 E. 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0075
IDPH – Bureau of Professional Licensure Home Page Cosmetology