Maryland Cosmetology License Information
In order to obtain a license in Barbering, Cosmetology, Nail Technology, Esthetics or Make-Up Artistry in the state of Maryland, individuals must complete the requirements listed below. Other requirements may apply.
Cosmetologist: 1500 hours
Barber: 1200 hours
Esthetician: 600 hours
Nail Technician: 250 hours
Licensing Fee Schedule: (Fees subject to change)
Nail Technician: $25
Continuing Education Requirements:
In order to qualify for two-year license renewal, individual licensees are required to complete 16 hours of continuing education. Individuals are required to complete one hour in each of the following course subjects: communicable diseases; disinfection, sanitation, and sterilization; Maryland State law; and Maryland occupational safety and health regulations, and the safe handling of chemicals. The remaining 12 hours may be completed in core subjects or any cosmetology-related course subject approved by the board. Up to, but not exceeding, 12 hours of the continuing-education requirements for a license term may be met by completing a board-approved home-study course done by correspondence, video, or Internet.
Individuals are eligible for a license by reciprocity or endorsement if they possess a current license from another state, can provide confirmation their license was obtained under the same standards as required in Maryland, and have a license that is in good standing, is current, and not expired.
State Board of Cosmetologists
500 N. Calvert Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21202-3651
www.dllr.state.md.us/license/occprof/cos.html (for cosmetology)
www.dllr.state.md.us/license/occprof/barber.html (for barbering)